Have you ever seen a Whippie before?

Well, if not - here you have one!

Whippa came to me in may 2004, in other words we've known eachother for three whole years soon. This lovely little ladydog is born in february 2004, on the countryside outside of Göteborg. She is a mix of three different breeds. Her mother was a mix between Collie and Bearded Collie and her father was a Whippet. Or I hope they still are of course!

A Whippet and a Collie - A Whippie! Hippie Whippie!




1. Whippa, her father and her mother
2 & 3. Whippa, about 10 weeks old



Whippa got her name both from the word Whippet and from the fact that she really loved a cat toy that was like a stick with some feathers on ("vippa") and used to apport it all the time when she was a little puppy. Oh, she was the sweetest puppy, she never did anything bad like destroying shoes and furniture. Of course small accidents did happen, but over all (and with "bullstaffs" to compare with) she was a saint. She's still a very well-behaved lady, but she has a lot of speed in her legs and also some mischief in her head, so of course she is a bit wild sometimes, but isn't that what we want to see in our animals? Life and own will. We don't want to have a robot dog walking beside us all the time, obeying every order, without the tiniest will of their own. Do we? Anyway, I really don't!

Yes, as I said, she's got a whole lot of speed and I've never seen a dog run faster. It's obvoius that she's taken after a lot from her dad. I think the ladylike behaviour is from her mom, the Collie. She was a real lady, lying in the shade, chilling, while daddy Whippet was playing with his daughter. Whippa is also very intelligent, she learns even without me having to teach her. Beside our two "bulls" she appears like a real Einstein. Haha!
(Sorry Gizmo and Aliya, you know I love you too!)




1. Whippa and little Aliya, a couple of weeks old
2. Whippa on Öland
3. Whippa - the ghost dog



The thing I enjoy most doing with Whippa is walking in the wilderness. I love being with her in the woods or in the open grasslands. She is running, smelling everything, searching for some fun animals to chase, like squirrels or rats. I am walking at a slow pace, philosophising about everything an nothing at all.

Nearly all the times she stays pretty close to me, but sometimes she finds something really exciting and then she's gone. Those times she also loses her hearing. It doesn't matter how much I'm calling for her, she's got much more important things to do! After a while I use to hear her barking loudly somewhere at a distance. I know then that she is seeing something that she's either afraid of or that she wants to eat. I never know which of these two it is, or what kind of animal. I use to get really curious... What if it could be a bear, a wolf or a lynx? Often times I guess it's just a squirrel or a bird. But you never know!

Other things we use to do together is just chill out in the bed or sofa and train some searching or agility. Whippa is a really fun friend to have. This summer I am planning on taking Whippa with me to the mountains to walk some of the "king trail" ("Kungsleden"). It will be very fun to be out in the wild for maybe a week - just me and my beloved Whippie.






Comments
Postat av: mu

Å vad kul att läsa om Wippa... den lilla ljuvliga näbban. Om jag någon fler gång ska ha hund ska jag ha en Wippa

2007-04-18 @ 13:42:26

Type your comments here:

Name:
Remember me 'til next time?

E-mail: (not published)

URL/Blog-address:

Comments:

Trackback





SECOND HAND - FÖR NATUREN!!
Prylbanken.se
(Gratis annonser)

RSS 2.0