Yesterday evening

It was a very nice evening yesterday...

I went outside with the dogs and I equipped myself with the camera. I was not looking for anything special, but I ended up seeing some animals I didn't expected to see. I think I saw nearly ten different species, but I only catched three of them on photo.



A list of some of the animals I saw:

European Roe Deer (Capreolus capreolus)
Muskrat or Musquash (Ondatra zibethicus) √
Swan (Cygnus olor or Cygnus cygnus) √
Eurasian Curlew (Numenius arquata)
Common Kestrel (Falco tinnunculus) √

( √ = on photo )



European Roe Deer


I actually got pretty close to the deers but a good piece of advice is to NOT bring a couple of clumsy, loudly panting Bullterriers along when you're trying to photograph wild animals. Just when I had just a little bit left before I could take a photo of the deers, my two friends stumbled over some dry branches and the deers took of quicker than quick. Well, maybe next time. I'm about to get myself a new lens to the camera, a zoom lens. That way I don't need to get up close to the animals to get good photos of them. It's not fun to scare the animals off.


image342
Here is the best photo of the deers, taken a few days ago

image343
This is all I got yesterday, a photo of their hoof prints



Muskrat

I'm not really sure what this animal is and I've never seen one before, but my guess is that it's a Muskrat. I did not see it at first. I was taking a photo of the scenery and then I saw it swimming there, near the edge of the river. It disappeared under water but after several minutes it appeared again.


image348






Swans

I could not ger near these guys, but anyway. There were eight of them, four pairs I guess. Like a double double date. I think that it's fascinating and sweet that pairs of swans stay together year after year.


image351
Four swans to the left and four to the right



Common Kestrel

Last year I found that a pair of kestrels was living in a pine tree on my backyard. They hatched some chickens too last summer. Very cute little birds. Now they are back and I'm happy for that.

Last evening they sat in their pine tree, the female down in the nest and the male on top of the tree, and they were talking to eachother. Ki ki ki ki. The male had a little darker voice than the female. I wonder what they said?


image352
The male kestrel


image353
The male again, flying

Comments

Type your comments here:

Name:
Remember me 'til next time?

E-mail: (not published)

URL/Blog-address:

Comments:

Trackback





SECOND HAND - FÖR NATUREN!!
Prylbanken.se
(Gratis annonser)

RSS 2.0