Examination and frog in a mine

Examination and frog in a mine

Yes. Tomorrow it's my examination on the first part of the Earth science course - rock geology. I'm starting to feel like a damn rock soon. I'm pretty ok with what I've learned, but I know I can do better. I'm still way too slow to throw myself in. It's still the last two days before the exam that I do like 99 % of my studying. Well, I'm planning to improve.

A cute thing! Me and my class went on a little fieldtrip this tuesday. One thing we got to do was to go down an old mine. It was really cool to stand down there, far underneath the surface, and especially when we all turned off our flashlights. Total darkness, very moist, pretty chilly and really quiet when nobody was talking. It was cool. But another thing was even more cool. When we were looking at some special minerals in the rock face, I saw something moving on the ground. I didn't expect a living being (except for us of course) deep down in the "underground". But there was life!

A young frog had found its way down there someway. Of course I stopped listening to the information that was presented about the minerals in the rock... and went to catch the frog. I took it with me up into a nicer and more suitable environment and set it free in a little pond where there were a lot of other young frogs of different sizes. The underground frog jumped into the water right away. Seemingly happy.

A thing that confused me was that the level of development was very different from frog to frog. Some were very small and still had their tail, some had lost their tail and were a little bigger and "my" frog was like three centimeters long and really developed. Was it one year older? Was it even older and had been in the mine for long and had stopped growing due to lack of food? Or does development really differ that much among baby frogs?

Hmm...

What would we do if we had no questions to ponder? :)


A beautiful frog I found in may

Comments
Postat av: mum

intressant att läsa om era fältstudier i gruvan... men vi kommer ju aldrig att få veta hur det var med den där grodan......

2008-09-28 @ 16:40:30

Type your comments here:

Name:
Remember me 'til next time?

E-mail: (not published)

URL/Blog-address:

Comments:

Trackback





SECOND HAND - FÖR NATUREN!!
Prylbanken.se
(Gratis annonser)

RSS 2.0